Chicken Crossed Bicycle Power

I like animals. I like nature.

Even work for an environmental office.

But, that doesn’t mean I always know how to handle nature.

For example:

I’m still trying to figure out what I’m supposed to do if I encounter an alligator while riding my bicycle.

On the military base where I work and ride, I take a road through the golf course. At one point both sides are flanked by man-made ponds. There is a 10 foot alligator living in one, but it crosses the road to get to the other, so uses and hunts both.

And, oh yeah, I’m blinking terrified of alligators! They’re big. They eat people and dogs.

They’re scarey.

Did I mention they bite?

Anyway, the pond level is quite high right now, so I make an effort to ride in the center of the road and freak out until I’m past. It does piss off any cars that happen to be behind me for those 200 feet, but jeeze, I’ve hit some of my fastest speeds going through that spot, and actually go over the speed limit of 25, but all cyclists know how cars misbehave.

Anyway, I digress.

One day there is going to be a giant gator in that road, or it’s going to ambush me as I zoom past or….

Why did the gator cross the road?

To eat the chicken on the bike of course!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Chicken Crossed Bicycle Power”

  1. logangrey20 Says:

    I think they only eat old ladies with dementia. So you are probably save. If one does go after you however, try to ride in a zig zag because I think they find that confusing.

  2. Sheila Muirenn Says:

    Thanks Logan!

    I’d probably zig into the pond. (Where’s a rolling eyed emoticon when you need one!)

Leave a Reply

