Vocabulary Extraordinaire Number 1

I’ve only to reread Moby Dick to discover how pathetic my vocabulary truly is. By modern standards, it’s excellent, even outstanding. By Melville’s?

Not so much.

I once wrote all the words I didn’t know in one chapter. The list was lengthy and I gave up.

I’ll try again. Though I won’t start with those woebegone utterances from Moby:

Misanthropic: marked by a hatred or contempt for mankind. (No, I didn’t start with that on purpose. I didn’t know!).

Epistemology: the study or a theory of the nature and grounds of knowledge, especially with reference to its limits and validity. (So how true is truth?).

Epistle: a composition in the form of a letter. (We’ve all heard of this in literature, but I for one had no idea what it meant).

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Vocabulary Extraordinaire Number 1”

  1. Robert Says:

    Ah, misanthropic. A favorite word of mine. I’ve been accused of misanthropy a time or two.

Leave a Reply

